Travel through Advent day 6

Advent journey day 6

Romans 5:17 New International Version (NIV)

17 For if, by the trespass of the one man, death reigned through that one man, how much more will those who receive God’s abundant provision of grace and of the gift of righteousness reign in life through the one man, Jesus Christ!

Out of the darkness appears the person who will make all things right!  How he sets all things right is totally different than the world would expect.  He doesn’t come with pomp and circumstances or with power and violence but he comes with GRACE and RIGHTEOUSNESS.

As I watched the morning news today I was reminded that we live in a world that demands justice.  Justice to the point of using violence to accomplish what they think is going to rectify the situation.  Anger and destruction used to let all know how they feel about the situation.   I wonder what would the world look like if we all practiced Grace?

I am not saying that practicing grace is easy.  I have had to practice it a lot over the past few years.  It is hard when you feel that you have been wronged or willfully hurt to not strike out and demand justice for yourself.  I have to admit I haven’t always been good at it and have often failed at being grace in situations that I should have been more gracious.  Many occasions I have had to go back and ask for forgiveness because I acted selfish and only compounded the problem.  However with that said I try to daily practice being a grace giver even though I know I will fall short many days.

Jesus came to show us that Grace would and could set things right.   Righteousness is defined by webster as  “acting in accord with divine or moral law.”   Jesus knew that all the violence we have practiced and continued to practice would never bring peace.   It is only when we step back and take a look at situations and value the other person as much as we value ourselves will relationships be restored and things be made right.   Even Jesus did this when he willingly lays down his life because the world was demanding justice!

So if righteousness is defined by living according to the divine then as I see it we must extend grace.  There is no other way for righteousness to be brought about without it. This Advent season as we anticipate the coming of Christ who is the only one that can bring justice, it would be great if we participated by extending Grace to others who are in need of it.

Can you imagine what the Christmas season would look like?  It reminds me of the words from the Beetles song “Imagine”  even a song we consider secular is crying out for Grace and Righteousness….  Almost a little prophetic?

Imagine there’s no countries
It isn’t hard to do
Nothing to kill or die for
And no religion, too

Imagine all the people
Living life in peace

You, you may say I’m a dreamer
But I’m not the only one
I hope someday you will join us
And the world will be as one

Imagine no possessions
I wonder if you can
No need for greed or hunger
A brotherhood of man

Imagine all the people
Sharing all the world

You, you may say I’m a dreamer
But I’m not the only one
I hope someday you will join us
And the world will live as one.

I hope this Advent and Christmas season you too will take a moment to dream and practice grace!  You could be the only glimpse of the divine (who is alive through His people) may see during this holiday season.

Leave a Reply

